8 Ball Umpire

World EightBall Pool Rules

World Eight Ball Rules: Lag for Break

01-01-2015 – Changes Highlighted

4.1 Lag for break
If competition or tournament rules require a lag for break then the following procedure should be used:
Each player should use balls of equal size and weight. These would preferably be the only two balls on the table.
With the balls in baulk, one player to the left and one to the right of the table, the balls are struck simultaneously to the foot cushion and back to the baulk end of the table. The player whose ball is the closest to the innermost edge of the baulk cushion wins the lag. The lagged ball must contact the foot cushion at least once. Other cushion contacts are immaterial, except as prohibited below.
It is an automatic loss of the lag if:

  • (1) the ball crosses into the opponent’s half of the table,
  • (2) the ball fails to contact the foot cushion,
  • (3) the ball drops into a pocket,
  • (4) the ball jumps the table,
  • (5) the ball touches the long cushion,
  • (6) the ball rests within the corner pocket and past the nose of the head cushion, or
  • (7) the ball contacts the foot cushion more than once.

If both players violate automatic-loss lag rules, or if the referee is unable to determine which ball is closer, the lag is a tie and is replayed.
If one player strikes the ball, the other player has to strike his ball before the opponent’s ball reaches the foot cushion in order to have a simultaneous lag. If this is not the case and the referee feels that the player who played second wanted to get an advantage out of that, then the lag has to be replayed.

Umpires Accreditation Period is Four Years

To answer the current revolving question being asked by several delegates.

How long is the umpires accreditation valid for?

In short; the time period mentioned at several National Umpires committee meetings, include periods of 7, 5, 4 and 2 years.

To comply with the ‘Officials’ (aka umpires) structure set in place by the Australian Sports Commission, the Umpires Accreditation Period is Four Years.

Reference: Australian Sports Commission
Document: “Guidelines for the Design and Registration of NCAS & NOAS Accreditation Programs”
Clause: Coaches/officials accredited in the NCAS/NOAS are required to update their accreditation at least every four years in order to remain an accredited coach/official.